Bihar, Jharkhand to get IGNOU regional centres soon

The state of Bihar and Jharkhand will soon have an IGNOU regional centre. The Open University has obtained approval from the Vice Chancellor Prof. V.N. Rajasekharan Pillai to establish the two new centres- Saharsa in Bihar and Deoghar in Jharkhand.

The regional centre at Saharsa will cover the districts of Khagariya, Saharsa, Supaul, Madhepura, Katihar, Arariya, Kishanganj and Purnia. The districts to be covered under the regional centre of Jharkhand in Deoghar are Godda, Deoghar, Sahibganj, Pakur, Dumka, Jamtara, Dhanbad, Bakaro and Giridih.

The Regional Centres are responsible for the promotion of the Open University system; development, maintenance and monitoring of Study Centres and Student Support Services; and organisation of staff development programmes in the region.

They are established with cooperation and support of the respective State Governments. The perspective plan of the university is to provide one Regional Centre for every state in the country.

A Regional Centre has been defined under Section 2(J) of the IGNOU Act as under: “Regional Centre” means a Centre established or maintained by the University for the purpose of coordinating and supervising the work of the Study Centres in any region and for performing such other functions as may be conferred on such Centre by the BoM.

The University is empowered to confer autonomous status to a Regional Centre having been established by IGNOU to coordinate and supervise the work of the Study Centres.

They are intended to act as resource centres of the University in respective regions. Regional Centres are centres for training coordinators/counsellors/other functionaries and would provide a venue for the students and the academic counsellors to express their responses with reference to a particular subject.

Show More

Related Articles