Govt to establish two new AIIMS at Raebareli and Raiganj

In the second phase of Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha
Yojna (PMSSY) the Central Government has approved for establishment of two new
AIIMS (All India Institute of Medical Sciences) at Raebareli in Uttar Pradesh
and Raiganj in West Bengal.

Under PMSSY centre has established six new AIIMS and is
upgrading 19 state governments medical colleges, said Union Minister of Health
& Family Welfare, Ghulam Nabi Azad in the Rajya Sabha.

In order to increase the undergraduate/postgraduate medical
seats, Central Government, in consultation with the Medical Council of India (MCI),
has relaxed the norms in terms of teacher student’s ratio, enhancement of
maximum intake capacity at MBBS level, requirement of land, faculty, staff bed
strength and other infrastructure for setting up of medical colleges.

Azad also said that the central government is providing
financial assistance for up-gradation of state government medical colleges to
increase PG seats in various disciplines.

The Ministry of Health and Family welfare has initiated schemes
for establishment of new medical colleges attached with district hospital and
also strengthening of state government medical colleges for increasing MBBS

Show More

Related Articles