IIT-KGP alumni hold protest in three cities demanding appointment of Director

Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kahargpur’s alumni organised
a nationwide protests and silent marches in Delhi, Bangalore and Kolkata
demanding immediate appointment of Director-select Prof Partha Pratim
Chakrabarti as the Director of the institute.

IIT Kharagpur has been headless for over a year now, and the
Director-select Prof P P Chakrabarti who has been elected by MHRD constituted
search cum selection committee selected in July 2012, has not yet been allowed
to assume office as Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) clearance is still

IIT KGP alumni have said that institute has unique
opportunity to appoint Prof Chakrabarti, a person of a rare caliber, to be IIT
Kharagpur’s Director. He is an exceptional scholar (President Gold Medallist,
1985, IIT Kharagpur), inspiring teacher (loved and respected by an entire
generation of IIT Kharagpur students and researchers), outstanding researcher
(one of the youngest winner’s of the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize, he has also
published papers in internationally acclaimed journals, which are also widely
cited), and an able administrator (Dean of Sponsored Research and Industrial
Consultancy, IIT Kharagpur from 2004 to 2013.)

“His appointment is pending CVC clearance.  For reasons unknown to us, CVC clearance is
still pending despite IIT Kharagpur’s Board of Governors (BOG) clearing Prof.
Chakrabarti of any wrong doing once in March 2012 and again on March 23, 2013,”
the alumni alleges.

“In an unprecedented show of support for an important and
urgent cause, IIT Kharagpur students, alumni and faculty members have started a
PPC for Director Movement. The alumni movement is chaired by Arjun Malhotra, an
IIT Kharagpur alumnus and co-founder, HCL,”  it said in a press statement.

“PPC for Director is a first of a kind movement that has
brought Faculty-Alumni-Students together at any IIT for a shared cause.  Our demand is that Prof. Chakrabarti be given
the CVC clearance and be appointed as the Director, IIT Kharagpur without any
further delays and before July 29, 2013,” they demanded. 

By IER Staff

Show More

Related Articles