Karnataka University forms committee to select candidates for honorary doctorate

A syndicate meeting chaired by the Vice Chancellor, Pramod Gai discussed the issue and resolved to form four committees of three experts each.

The committee will prepare a list and send it for the Chancellor’s approval.

On several occasions in the past, the governor who is also the chancellor of all universities in the state had rejected proposed names for conferring honorary doctorate. To avoid such embarrassment, the Karnatak University has decided to tread cautiously in the matter.

According to sources, Karnatak University has received 21 applications/recommendations for honorary doctorate. These include pontiffs, medical practitioners, politicians and litterateurs. The annual convocation of the university will be held at Gandhi Bhavan on May 22.

The syndicate also discussed the impasse created by the state government’s refusal to approve the promotions of 35 non-teaching staff. The meeting discussed the means to be followed to recover the benefits given to those who were promoted. While some of them are retired, some others have died, ToI reported.

Show More

Related Articles