Rs 50 crore donated to institute by Infosys co-founder

Infosys’s co-founder Nandan Nilekani along with his wife Rohini Nilekani have announced a donation of Rs 50 crore ($11 million) to the Indian Institute for Human Settlements (IIHS) to fund its School of Environment and Sustainability.

A joint statement from Nilekani’s said, “IIHS is at the convergence of both our interests in education, urbanisation and sustainability. We are excited about contributing to an institution which will help people engage with new challenges in an innovative and interdisciplinary manner.”

The institute has mobilised Rs 300 crore ($67 million) through its IIHS resource mobilisation campaign to fund five interdisciplinary schools, one of South Asia’s largest reference and digital libraries and other facilities for its Bangalore campus. An additional Rs 100 crore ($22 million) will be raised for chair professorships.

Speaking on the development, IHS director Aromar Revi said, “India is returning to a tradition of philanthropy to build independent national institutions for the common good. Rohini and Nandan Nilekani’s support to IIHS’s School of Environment and Sustainability is in the spirit that created some of India’s greatest universities. We hope we can match up to this aspiration.”

The Indian Institute for Human Settlements (IIHS) is a national education institution committed to the equitable, sustainable and efficient transformation of Indian settlements. Currently in a planning stage, the institute will take around five to seven years to start functioning. IIHS is India’s first prospective independently funded and managed National University for Innovation that focuses on its ongoing urban and development transformation. It is a first-of-its-kind, practice and innovation-oriented knowledge institution that seeks to bridge the conventional excellence, scale and inclusion divide.

The IIHS is supported by a group of eminent Indians who include: Xerxes Desai, Jamshyd Godrej, Cyrus Guzder, Renana Jhabvala, Vijay Kelkar, Keshub Mahindra, Kishore Mariwala, Rahul Mehrotra, Bansi Mehta, Rakesh Mohan, Nandan Nilekani, Nasser Munjee, Deepak Parekh, Shirish Patel and Deepak Satwalekar.

Show More

Related Articles