Tandon Committee constituted to assess status of deemed varsities resigns

All the four members of the P N Tandon Committee
which was constituted to review the status of all the 126 deemed universities
in 2009 have resigned.

The committee constituted by the Ministry of Human
Resource Development (MHRD) had P N Tandon, Goverdhan Mehta, M Anandakrishnan
and Mrinal Miri as its members.

The committee had categorized deemed universities
into three groups. Group A with 38 was found fit to remain deemed university
status, another 44 in group B were found lacking in certain parameters and were
given three years to make up for the deficiencies. Group C consisted of 44
deemed universities.

The committee felt these institutions could not
redeem themselves and hence did not deserve deemed university status. Group C
universities have challenged the Tandon Committee report in the Supreme Court.

Reportedly, the committee informed the MHRD that it
had been functioning for a long time and would like to resign.

However, MHRD is yet to accept the resignation of
its members.

“We will try to convince Mr Tandon and others
to rethink their decision. They have made impeccable contribution,” a
ministry official said.

After completing the task of reviewing deemed
universities, Tandon Committee was retained by the ministry to assess group B
deemed universities that claimed to have fulfilled the deficiencies within
three years.

The Committee was asked to decide if group B
universities which had fulfilled the requisite parameters should be included in
group A. A senior official said Tandon had requested to be relieved on account
of his age and health, reported Times of India.

Show More

Related Articles